Shiva Ram's Blog

My First professional LIVE game

The 59th National Senior Volleyball Championship was held in Chennai from 12-19th December. I was excited to go and see the matches but I was busy in insti doing a project on the weekdays, so couldnt watch the matches. But I had kept track of the tournament in the news daily and was excited to find Tamil Nadu team won the championship last year and are doing very good this time also.

The finals was to my great luck on a Sunday and I had just gone home. So I had my bike and also company from my brother to go and watch. We saw that the matches were scheduled to start at 3pm. So we headed out at there and reached the venue at 2.15 itself hoping to see a lot of crowd. But apparently the first match was Women’s finals and it didnt attract a lot of spectators.The look of the court itself was awesome. The lighting and the shine from the surface itself made me stand with awe. I had to control myself and then find the suitable place to sit.

The court with just some of the lights ON

The Women’s final was between Railways and Kerala. The stadium was as I already said, almost 3/4th empty. We sat parallel to the net facing the serve so that I can admire the attack, the formation, and attack and the other nuances of the game. I was not thinking of writing a blog during the Women’s match so I did not take motes of the match. But the match was pretty interesting though. Railways lost the first set and Kerala were looking good. But later they had a very good comeback. They were unstoppable and Kerala team seemed to have lost their confidence. Railways won 3-1.

The women in action

But the main action started when the Men’s match was about to start.  By that time though the hall was full.  Velammal foundation was sponsoring the event. So students from the colleges had already thronged up and were quite active. They converted the chairs into drums and were all dancing and running around. So when even as the Women’s action ended the Railways team were savouring the moment when the TN Men’s team made their entry. Oh boy!! The stadium was about to vibrate out to demolition. It was a HUGE home support I would say and I was definitely one of them.

The finals was between TN and Kerala(again). There was support for the Kerala team also but not like a thunderstorm for the TN team. :PI couldnt take really good pictures and all that I have here is the ones taken with my mobile camera ( Go Corby!! 😉 )

The match started anyways. Both teams were looking good. The TN team werent looking so good or at least the Kerala team was looking better.The Kerala smashes were awesome and the TN block couldnt stop them.  The first set was a good fight but the Kerala team won 25-23.

In the second set also the Kerala was looking dominant. The score read 7-14 and then went onto 14-20. Then came the TN comeback till 21 all.What then continued was a series of service cuts but then the fight ended with Kerala winning again.

The 3rd set started with very low cheering as defeat loomed in the faces of the excited fans.  But in this set TN were leading from the start. There was a little fightback but the score read 21-17. There was an excellent rally of smashes and block and boost and everything that was a real treat to watch. TN won the set 25-20 and the fans were up and active again.

The fourth set was the set when TN showed their mighty power when Kerala had no answers for their block and smashes. The score was at 15-10 when I saw the most brilliant smash of the say from TN.  Kerala was down and under when the score read 24-12. TN lost the serve but then the winning set point was handed to them by a service to the net.

A fitting final I would say this one as it went into the deciding set. In volleyball the decider set is for 15 points rather than the usual 25 and there is court change when one of team reaches 8 points.

To give an account on how the final set was..The score read

1 all

2 all

3 all

on and on…..

At 8-7 Kerala in lead the court changed. And again the teams were fighting to their death. The points were 9-all, 10-all, 11-all,12-all,13-all,14-all.

Kerala then won the serve and then lead onto match point again. But then excellent smash by TN saved them and then on it won the next two points too.

The crowd went berserk and so did I. It was true brilliance at play. Some of the things that I observed was that everybody in team were boosting when there was a desperate need. The TN libero was really good and so was the Kerala libero. Of course to the noob eyes of mine these maybe the least that I could admire. I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did watching the match.

Take a look at the crowd!!

Leave a Reply

